2022 NAO Award Winners

The UW–Madison Nurses Alumni Organization is proud to announce the 2022 NAO Award Winners. Jean Johnson, MS’78, PhD, RN, FAAN, has been selected as the 2022 Distinguished Achievement Award recipient, and Zhiyuan “Effy” Yu ’15, PhD’19, Cert’19, has earned the 2022 Outstanding Badger Nurse Award.

More than Medicine

Professor Linda D. Oakley, PhD, RN, is taking a heart-health message to historically marginalized Black communities and nursing students. As the Louis J. and Phyllis Clark Jacobs Professor in Mental Health, Oakley is committed to using science to find health and well-being solutions to systemic hypertension present in Black communities.

Lead Through Connection

The Badger Nurse Mentorship Program helps current students who wish to receive support from School of Nursing alumni as they transition from student nurses to professional nurses. Through community, support, camaraderie, and fellowship, Badger nurses are building connections, leading in the profession, and changing lives.