Legacy of the Nursing Pin

School of Nursing pin

History of the Nursing Pin

Traditionally, each school of nursing has its own distinct pin. The pin for the University of Wisconsin—Madison School of Nursing was planned in 1926, since it was to be worn by members of the first graduating class the next year, The design, submitted by a firm, was selected by a committee of five: Miss Helen Denne, director of the school, Miss Lila Fletcher, superintendent of nurses, Miss Christina Murray, instructor in the school, Dr. Robin Buerki, hospital superintendent, and Dr. Joseph Evans, of the Medical School staff.

Apparently, a contest was held for the best design. Interestingly, the design selected bears a strong resemblance to a British medal, Order of the Royal Red Cross, awarded to Miss Denne, who served as a Canadian military nurse overseas in World War I. The medal was given to the School of Nursing after Miss Denne’s death.

The School of Nursing pin consists of three parts: The Cross Pattee, representative of nursing; the Caduceus, symbolic of medicine and healing; and the seal of the University, signifying the educational setting of the School.

Read More (pdf)

Tradition of Promise

The pin of the University of Wisconsin–Madison School of Nursing, designed in 1926, symbolizes a proud tradition of service. Each year, select pins are passed on from a past graduate to a new graduate as a sign of the recipient’s achievement and future promise.

Donate Your Pin

“I am so honored to donate my pin to Raquel. I look forward to watching her progress in her career. UW–Madison was the best springboard for my career. You must take risks and advance in the direction of your dreams. Be kind, give back, and mentor–then the cycle begins again.”

Stephanie Swartz '74

NAO Pin Recipients & Donors

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.


Recognition of Pin Recipients:

Shoua Xiong, Dean’s Pin

Taylor Joslin, Board of Visitors Pin

Pin Recipients Donated by Alumni:

Holly Adams, Susan Glotzer ’62

Nicole Bartels, Connie Worzala ’75

Amber Braun, Kay Schaus ’60

Holly Christy, Lisa Becker ’87

Emily Dokken, Patty Kamienski ’75

Brissa Donnelly, Joanne Disch ’68

Alexandra Goldenberg, Laurie O’Leary ’65

Natalie Halderson, Christine Lillesand ’85

Julie Jones, Christine Eisenreich ’74

Peyton Kane, Patricia Peters ’61

Aleka Kraemer, Roberta Gast ’65

Marissa Lambert, Christine Jentz Frederick ’74

Helen Maragos, Betty Maragos Hess ’51

Alexandra Mentink, Georganne Wilke ’94

Jacqueline Olen, Christine Fietzer ’79

Emma Peterson-Johnson, Jean LaChapelle Lund, Cert’40, ’42

Trinity Roehl, Carol Newman ’60

Grace Schumacher, Susan Ritter ’81

Isabelle Weber, Lois Loescher ’74

Ryan Weiland, Cheryl Utke ’89, MS’96

Carly Weinberger, Julia Heusinger ’76

Theresa Zauner, Sally Armbrust ’70 


Pin Recipients:

Cassandra Bauer
Judy Chen
Yesenia Gamero
Annaly Garcia
Danielle Nicole Harris
Paige Danielle Henry
Jamie Anne Hernandez
Anna Eleanor Hinz
Karl Hummel
Abigail MaryJoy Joseph
Angie Li
Emily J. Mauerman
Kiana Elizabeth Montalvo
Hannah Park
Annika Leigh Vaerst
Lauren Ashley Wightman
Ariana Yar

Pin Donors:

Shari Paulus Diehl ’78
Elaine Stecker-Kochanski ’69
Jane Weinstein Rosenfeld ’68
Karen Breitzke Walter ’60
Sandy Laedtke ’71
Sonja Nealis ’74
Elaine Hrupka Williams, Cert ’51, ’52
Michelle Byrne ’79, MS ’86
Barbara Brown ’71
Mary Kay Gardenier ’70, MS ’81
Mary Dowds ’97
Charlotte Pagel Anderson ’59
Malissa Wightman ’97
Helen Ritzler ’55


Pin Recipients:

Raquel Burnham
Maica Ho
Chaya Miller
Chinaza Nwosa
Rey Okoene
David Sohl
Ashley Thomas
Max Wuest
Nancy Yang

Pin Donors:

Stephanie Swartz ’74
Nancy Dextrom ’66
Jane Jordan Farrell ’61
Eileen Smit ’69, MS ’77
Molly Meyer ’71
Cathryn Eckberg ’71
Mary Moat CERT ’77, MS ’82


Pin Recipients:

Noor Bontz
Michaela Ginter-Powers
Katie Kalvelage
Mariah Larson
Eric Schiller
Kayla Siok
Sara Thao
Bryce Trimberger
Kayla Van Boxtel

Pin Donors:

Joan Bachhuber ’75
Edna Johnson Luckow ’52
Ruth Drye ’66
Nancy Oldenburg ’74
Sally (Martalock) Wangsness ’63
Jeanne (Culter) Appelbaum ’76
Susan Curtis ’86


Pin Recipients:

Laura Block

Hannah Bonneville

Abbie Elsholz

Emily Hanna

Sirirothnak Seng

Dallas Prockl

Pin Donors:

Nancy Seegers Schaper Cert ’57, ’57

Mary Huseth Black Cert ’57, ’70

Cheryl Donkle ’74

Dorinda Cartier ’72


Pin Recipients:

Alex Dudek
Guisella Medrano
Aniqueka Jamie Scott
Grace Stewart
Pa Ying Vang

Pin Donors:

Betty Putzi ’58
Nancy Stone Davis ’63
Nancy Watts ’67

Pinning Ceremonies


Connect With the Nurses Alumni Organization

The University of Wisconsin–Madison Nurses Alumni Organization (UW NAO) was founded in 1927 shortly after the first class graduated from the School of Nursing. All School of Nursing graduates become members upon graduation or certificate completion.

Graduation celebration with Bucky Badger

Jordan Langer

Position title: Advancement Manager

Email: jlanger3@wisc.edu

Phone: 608-262-1179

5173 Signe Skott Cooper Hall